Gluten Derivatives

Gluten Derivatives

Do you suffer from Celiac Disease or are you gluten intolerant? (Read about the symptoms of gluten intolerance here.) For people who suffer from gluten intolerance,  avoiding gluten is crucial to your health.  Gluten is not just found in bread. The first thing you must learn to do is READ EVERY LABEL. Gluten can be hidden.

Below is a short list of gluten derivatives that may help you when going gluten free:

  • Alcohol made from grains:  beer, whisky, vodka (unless potato-based), scotch, most liquors
  • Batter-coated foods
  • Biscotti
  • Bran
  • Canned meat containing preservatives
  • Canned vegetables (unless canned in water only)
  • Caramel (made and imported from countries other that the US and Canada)
  • Chewing gum
  • Curry powder
  • French fries (may be fried in same oil as bread products)
  • Fruit drinks
  • Horseradish sauces
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (may be made from wheat)
  • Imitation seafood (usually made with a starch binder made of wheat)
  • Instant hot drinks- coffee, tea, hot chocolate
  • Ketchup
  • Modified Food starch (in US starch usually means cornstarch, but in medication the starch can be corn or wheat)
  • Rice syrup (may contain barley malt)
  • Salad dressings-avoid all commercial varieties unless noted gluten-free on label
  • Soups-most commercially made canned or frozen soups
  • Soy sauce and most other Chinese sauces, except Tamari wheat-free sauce
  • White pepper
  • Malt
  • Veined cheese ((may be created from molds that could be of bread origin
  • Bouillon cubes or powder (artificial colors)
  • Mustards (unless stated gluten-free
  • Margarines
  • Sauces
  • Sausages
  • Starch
  • MSG (Monosodium Glutamate)
  • Glutamic Acid (flavor enhancers)
  • Monopotassium Glutamate (flavor enhancers)

Remember the phrase “WHEN IN DOUBT, LEAVE IT OUT, ” if you aren’t sure if an item is gluten-free.


No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.